​National Quality Framework

The National Quality Framework aims to raise quality and drive continuous improvement and consistency in education and care services through:

  • a national legislative framework
  • a National Quality Standard
  • a national quality rating and assessment process
  • a new national body called the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority.

National Legislative Framework

The National Legislative Framework is established through an applied laws system and consists of:

  • the Education and Care Services National Law
  • the Education and Care Services National Regulations.

National Quality Standard

The National Quality Standard sets a national benchmark for the quality of education and care services. The National Quality Standard is divided into seven Quality Areas:

  1. Educational program and practice.
  2. Children’s health and safety.
  3. Physical environment.
  4. Staffing arrangements.
  5. Relationships with children.
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities.
  7. Leadership and service management.

National Quality Rating and Assessment Process

Services will be assessed and rated against each of the seven Quality Areas of the National Quality Standard and the National Regulations. They will also be given an overall rating. The rating and assessment process aims to drive continuous quality improvement at services and provide families with better information for making choices about their children’s education and care.

National Quality Framework Website